The Mighty Pearl

This weekend I upgraded / replaced my old Blackberry with the newest creation – the BlackBerry Pearl.  First off, I replaced my other phone after the microphone died and it couldn’t help itself from hour glassing for 2-3 hours at a time (usually when I was lost out in the backwoods of Illinois.  So, I didn’t replace my phone because I didn’t like the old design, but was forced to due to natural selection.

My first thoughts are as follows:
The Bad New First….

  • The back piece is too thin.  Every time I hold the phone to type the back depresses more than it should, and makes me a bit nervous on its ability to sustain violent blows from its new user.
  • The buttons are a bit software, and slightly smaller.  This makes typing a bit of a challenge, but I hope it is just a learning curve given the new device.
  • 3 crashes in 4 days.  Not too inconvenient given that it comes back within a minute, but still something we need addressed.

The Good Stuff…

  • Fast – Wonderfully fast compared to the old BlackBerrys
  • The roller ball is quite responsive and allows for some nice navigation.
  • The push / pull services are excellent (note these may have always existed, but I was not introduced until recently)

My latest add-ons are:

  • Google Maps (Live Traffic feeds, Satellite, wonderful)
  • Google Chat
  • Push Weather services (multiple locations)
  • [Know of any others, please pass them along!!]
  • The bluetooth functionality is great – super easy file transfer with my new MB.
  • The ability to setup the phone as a bluetooth-modem to the MB is AWESOME.

Overall a good experience.  I will update this post with any new experiences….

James

About J.D.

Passionate about CrossFit, mindset, bettering each other, technology, and the intersection of cybersecurity with products. The online views and posts represent my journey of discovery and learning.
This entry was posted in Mac, Technology and Gadgets. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

