Book Review: Starbucked

StarbuckedI received this book as a gift both as a joke and on a serious note.  As any entrepreneur and technologist can relate, I spend an abnormal amount of time away from home and tend to find myself in a Starbucks.  I generally enjoy their drinks, though I enjoyed them more when they had real espresso machines and not the mechanical ones, and love their atmosphere.  To the contrary of some people’s perceptions, I do not only go to Starbucks.  I will enjoy any coffee shop I find, and will certainly seek out authentic / regionally original coffee houses above starbucks any day.  So, I am both practical in that I enjoy Starbucks where ever they may be, but I am also biased towards “other” coffee houses that have real baristas that can pull great shots of espresso and make perfect foam.

So, how does the book fair?  It is a fun read.  Actually the first half is fun and inspiring as an entrepreneur.  The second half is more globalization the fall of culture.  I enjoyed the deep perspective on how they started the business, and how  coffee has become a success.  I would definitely recommend giving this book a read to those looking to fund startups – actually I would advise reading this book over “Founders at Work“.  That book was chock full of people gloating and not giving the meat of the deals and emotions.

For some deeper insight into the book check out – Brand Autopsy’s article.

In the end, if you have a long flight get the book and enjoy.  Otherwise drink that half-calf decaf fat free with whip beverage in eternal bliss.
James

About pcidss

Proficient in IT Controls, IT Security, and Risk management. My recent interests lie in the credit card security and protecting identities. This blog will reflect the past, current, and future best steps to securing data (specifically in the context of PCI DSS, and DSOP)
This entry was posted in book, coffee, education. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

