WD My Book World Edition – Network and how I got burned

wdfmybook_world_1n_big_1I have a plethora of USB drives and network drives to store data around the home and at the office.  I purchased the MyBook World Edition Network drive with the intent to store data over the wire.  The device  has a USB port on it and I ASSUMED I could plug in directly and make it a USB drive to transfer files from my computer.  So, I recently tried to load one with about 500 gigs of data to store offsite.  The device would not mount on any of my computers and after a while I got quite frustrated.

I then tried to plug it into the WD tv, and it failed there too.

After RE-reading the webiste I learned that the USB port on most of these devices is to extend the drives storage and not as a port to connect computer.  So the lesson – when purchasing external storage devices be sure HOW you can transfer data – and trust me it is worth the extra $10 to get the ones with the additional transfer methods.

Don’t get burned – read the Specifications and don’t assume.

James

About J.D.

Passionate about CrossFit, mindset, bettering each other, technology, and the intersection of cybersecurity with products. The online views and posts represent my journey of discovery and learning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

