WD TV Adventures – in lieu of XMBC

wdfwdtvI am currently working to put in a technology to play my digital movie files.  I have a variety of formats pulled from camcorders, training seminars and .avi .mkv and .mp4 formats.  I have tested xmbc and plex and been pleasantly surprised by the capabilities; however, there is just too much management on each.  I also had a few challenges with plex and my monitor / televisions. xmbc on an xbox is good but no HD.  So, I tried a commercial solution – the Western Digital TV device.  It is very basic – an HDMI port, 2 usb, and composite.  Here are my initial results:

It works very simply.  I have played all of the above file formats with good success.  I have 2 files that have not played correctly and I am working to discover the encoding I used to see if that is the cause of the problem.  I was even able to play the video_ts folder without problem.

Quality – all depends on the video – DivX came out grainy and avi showed artifacts

It is quiet and perfect for a home entertainment environment.  Remote is cheap but gets the job done.

Most important of all – It is WIFE APPROVED.  She was navigating in seconds and content.

Also, you can pause a movie and return to it later on.

Bottom line:  Buy it – it is worth the cash.  Careful though the device is cheap but the HDMI cable will cost at least $50 (I bought the cheapest / shortest and it works great – I have a high grade hdmi cable that I will double check, but I expect similar results and will post update).

Happy Videoing,

James

About pcidss

Proficient in IT Controls, IT Security, and Risk management. My recent interests lie in the credit card security and protecting identities. This blog will reflect the past, current, and future best steps to securing data (specifically in the context of PCI DSS, and DSOP)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WD TV Adventures – in lieu of XMBC

  1. Pingback: WD TV - Firmware update 1.01.02 « Life and all its quirks

Leave a Reply

