A Story of an iPad: Woa no Connectivity

2nd story…

So, I have several downloaded free apps and dropbox installed now.  Dropbox is great because I can easily transfer and sync files that I want to read across many computers – FANTASTIC!  So far, I can easily read my files natively in dropbox and everything is working great.  The caveat being while I am connected to wifi…

I took a trip to Buffalo New York and realized on the plane that every document in dropbox was not available w/o the wifi connection.  Totally killed my single use in one shot.  After research that evening I found an option to create favorites that are then stored locally.  Problem solved…not quite.

On the plane ride home not all the favorites loaded, and again I was stuck reading my backup backup paper book.

With a bit of testing I have now downloaded / paid for a few applications that allow me to have a file viewer on the iPad and a document viewer.  Together these make a nice combo and allow me to read offline.  In addition I downloaded Reeder for my rss feed viewing.  Simple, but not sure if it is the right one for me – yet.

Bottom line:  Buy a few apps as they make the iPad hummmmm nicely.

Dear Apple,

Please add an “Offline” descriptor for iPad applications – out 50 I reviewed I could not determine if they worked offline or not.  My only determinant was to download test and then test again with the wifi turned off.

Thanks,

James

About J.D.

Passionate about CrossFit, mindset, bettering each other, technology, and the intersection of cybersecurity with products. The online views and posts represent my journey of discovery and learning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

