How to be better … 10,000 hours of dedication

As in most, I am constantly setting goals and finding new challenges that bring me great experiences and perspectives.  My journey to marathons, half ironman events (when I couldn’t even finish 1 lap in a pool and now do 80+ regularly), and emotional and intellectual hurdles.  Of course, I want to do better and actively follow the research and methods. It seems though, at the end of the day – it is practice practice practice.  In some cases research highlights 10,000 hours of effort is necessary.

Thinking of our professions we quickly see how we can become incredible at certain things and feel like a teenager at others – awkward and unsure.  I constantly am seeking to experience broader and more diverse activities, not that I can be an expert beyond a few, but I certainly can be good and excel at areas I enjoy.

To that effect a nice Harvard Business Review blog post was composed and published that highlights this topic.  The author also crafted a book that I have ordered on Amazon, and will add my comments here when I get through it.  Below is a short excerpt from the blog.

Link to the book “The Way We’re Working Isn’t Working: The Four Forgotten Needs That Energize Great Performance”.

Link of blog:  HBR Article

The first 2 that I love (of six… so check out the link above!):

  1. Pursue what you love. Passion is an incredible motivator. It fuels focus, resilience, and perseverance.
  2. Do the hardest work first.

James

About pcidss

Proficient in IT Controls, IT Security, and Risk management. My recent interests lie in the credit card security and protecting identities. This blog will reflect the past, current, and future best steps to securing data (specifically in the context of PCI DSS, and DSOP)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

