Banana Bread – Paleo and Gluten free

Screen Shot 2012-12-09 at 9.39.26 PM

I used the excellent recipe from here.  Overall it went very well, though I had a very soft center .. so much so that I actually hacked it up and cooked that portion longer.  I am not sure if it was due to the slightly larger eggs I used … as I used “large” eggs.  The bananas were a bit smaller than the jumbos usually available.  So, bottom line – tasty, but was the consistency.  I may break it into two separate pans to make it not as huge.  The pic above is what it looked like when finished.

[Update 12/13/12:  My little girl of 3.5 years old LOVED this bread!  No butter or anything … just thought it was excellent.. If you’ve tried to feed a little one good food, you’ll know how awesome it felt to see her connect with this dish – best!]

Recipe w/ my comments & edits:

  • 4 bananas, (I used ones I froze which may have added to much liquid .. lesson learned)
  • 4 eggs (regular sized)
  • 1/2 cup almond butter (I used almond, though may experiment with a blend next time)
  • 4 tablespoons grass-fed butter.. (MELT it first)
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • pinch of (celtic is what I used here) sea salt
  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit
  2. Combine your bananas, eggs (beaten), and nut butter, and grass-fed butter in a mixer
  3. Once all of your ingredients are blended, add in your coconut flour, cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder, vanilla, and sea salt and mix well
  4. Grease a pan with butter / ghee / etc..
  5. Pour in your batter and spread it evenly throughout
  6. Place in your preheated oven and bake for 55-60 minutes
About pcidss

Proficient in IT Controls, IT Security, and Risk management. My recent interests lie in the credit card security and protecting identities. This blog will reflect the past, current, and future best steps to securing data (specifically in the context of PCI DSS, and DSOP)
This entry was posted in Food!, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Banana Bread – Paleo and Gluten free

  1. Pingback: Outstanding banana bread – gluten and sugar free | Life and all its quirks

Leave a Reply

