Book Review: Nietzsche ‘Twilight of Idols’

Screen Shot 2013-01-11 at 10.10.47 AMAfter being told to avoid Nietzsche altogether, I have continued my ancients reading (Seneca included) with his ‘Twilight of Idols’.  I read this version that provided additional works available – translated by Walter Kaufmann.  This post was helpful in me deciding where to start + a philosophy forum I ran across – thanks to both!

Overall, I recommend reading this work from him.  He is a bit difficult to follow in some places, and I definitely needed the power of Google to check references, historians, and translate some of the words.  I would recommend reading the opening by Kaufman BEFORE reading Nietzsche’s works, as he uses phrases that don’t mean what they mean today.  In addition, he makes references – such as Spirit, that have a cross meaning across all of his lifetime works.

I read this publication in a week, so not to much of a time commitment.  I will be reading Good and Evil next.  (I would have read first, but it seems I didn’t purchase the full version, so following @BrianMcCallion advice now..

Would love any thoughts and further recommendations!

James

About J.D.

Passionate about CrossFit, mindset, bettering each other, technology, and the intersection of cybersecurity with products. The online views and posts represent my journey of discovery and learning.
This entry was posted in book and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review: Nietzsche ‘Twilight of Idols’

  1. mfratto says:

    I’d start with a good understanding of Socrates and then Thus Spoke Zarathustra, then everything else. TSZ really lays out the core and intent of Neitzche’s thinking.

    • pcidss says:

      Thank you for the guidance on Socrates! Any particular works you would recommend? I dove head first into Seneca’s moral essays and really found them valuable.

Leave a Reply

