Ginger Carrot Muffins – paleo from Practical Paleo

IMG_0852

I made these also on Saturday with L and they were tasty.  I followed the recipe to the T, except I did not add the icing (completely unnecessary .. pretty, but not needed and not missed).

I did, it seems add more than 3 cups of carrots .. perhaps I did 5 .. it was 3 large carrots shredded at which point I just dumped the whole lot into the batter.  Here is the recipe w/ my edits (buy the book for the whole thing won’t yea!) … the book is available on Amazon, and TOTALLY worth it.  I’ll be cooking from this book for the next few months, so will share winners and of course those losers too (looking at you Beet & Fennel salad!)

Carrot Gingerbread Muffins

6 eggs … (see the book or this website w/ permission)
…1 tsp. ground ginger (what I had in the house)
…5 cups shredded carrots (recipe says 3 .. toddler and family loved 5 .. veges for the WIN)

  • Preheat oven to 350F. Whisk the eggs, butter or coconut oil, vanilla and maple syrup together in a large bowl. Sift in the coconut flour, salt, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger and cloves. Mix until well combined and fairly smooth. Add the carrots and coconut. Stir well.
  • In a muffin tin, scoop into lined muffin wrappers (because these WILL stick to paper), or a nicely greased muffin pan if you are staying home with them and presentation doesn’t matter.  I filled them to about 2/3 full.  Bake for 40 minutes; poke with toothpick; remove when clean; EAT.

I stored in a tupperware on the counter and it was promptly emptied by extended family and Loren the next morning – WIN.

I definitely recommend this recipe.  I actually found the nutrition information online, so here you go!  But the rule I follow with paleo is I rarely count calories.  I just make sure what I am eating is GOOD food, and I keep it easy when eating baked goods.  Really ANY baked goods should be considered a treat – stick to fruits, vegetables, and meats otherwise.  Simple, no counting, no point system.

About pcidss

Proficient in IT Controls, IT Security, and Risk management. My recent interests lie in the credit card security and protecting identities. This blog will reflect the past, current, and future best steps to securing data (specifically in the context of PCI DSS, and DSOP)
This entry was posted in Food!, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

