Lean in – Experiencing life at its maximum

bike_lean_in

How do you train for an Ironman? How do you stay healthy juggling your daughter, a full work schedule, and sharing your time with the community and friends? I hear these questions all the time and most of the time I just say I stay up longer and get up earlier, than I did before. Sleep reduction though is only part, the other is leaning in. A phrase I use with my daughter teaching her to climb, explore, experiment, and (I hope) develop a continually seeking attitude towards life. I firmly believe you can do anything you seek out. I love the phrase – if what you are doing isn’t working; change it, but not the goal. Today I setup the bike trainer for the first time this training season. Today being the first day of Spring, and in Atlanta with average 65 degrees and sunny – this seems ridiculous. In fact, I am doing this new training regiment beginning at 10:30pm in order to allow me to work a full 10 hour work day AND spend every waking moment with my daughter. Once she is asleep, well time to check emails and then hit the bike. Today I setup with monitor to keep an eye on her; TED talks on the tv, my phone for taking some notes, and heart rate monitor. (The bike was there too, but you know..) The ride was a success and I was able to have a reasonable workout with a heart rate in the zone 2-3 the whole time. Nothing extreme, yet. My gear also included a trainer that you can easily find online for cheap (especially as we hit the Spring and everyone is ditching theirs for actually being outside!). Also, I would suggest setting up a workout on paper – i.e., cadence X for Y minutes; increase resistance for X cadence and for Y minutes; continue. The idea is to build, reduce, build, reduce, etc… Focus on form, smooth, and heart. Speed is not the point nor is toughness of pedals. FOCUS on your heart and work through your practice. Today’s success was an hour on the bike and about 500 calories cooked. To give an idea of comparison, when I rode 3.5 hours on Saturday I burned 2,450 calories – a bit different. As you are moving with purpose today, I beg of you … Lean in!

About J.D.

Passionate about CrossFit, mindset, bettering each other, technology, and the intersection of cybersecurity with products. The online views and posts represent my journey of discovery and learning.
This entry was posted in Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

