Book Review: Nassim Taleb – AntiFragile

Mr. Taleb did a nice job sharing a fallacy that exists across society, sectors, fields of study, and simply human nature.  I really enjoyed his analysis and attempt to make it practical knowledge.  I feel in some areas he achieved this fact, but in others I had a hard time aligning how I would personally apply the barbell concept to my investment strategies, professional life, insurance (as I was reading it I was of the mind that I should cancel certain insurance policies except for an umbrella policy .. then I wondered if Nassim had done the same, unclear).  I DID find the diet, incremental fasting, exercise, and self study aspects very inline with my own personal study and habit.

One area I wish he had highlighted was – WHICH ancients should be read, and which text / translation / work.  I personally read many of those he quoted (Seneca, etc..), but a few others he implied and referenced without specifics.  I appreciate a random walk through literature and finding value personally in each reach, but sometimes a bit of directed randomness down the vast halls of literature is warranted.

I would definitely recommend the book, for everyone.  Though I imagine those in certain charlatan professions would take offense, and teachers would likely not recognize his points between the rants.  Yes, Nassim rants … best way to put it.  Some areas he goes on a tear and you just have to push through .. it becomes clear how it is all woven together.

Bottom line – read it.

Best,
James

About J.D.

Passionate about CrossFit, mindset, bettering each other, technology, and the intersection of cybersecurity with products. The online views and posts represent my journey of discovery and learning.
This entry was posted in books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

