My self and CrossFit .. Day 7

3 weeks ago I joined CrossFit East Cobb at the recommendation of friends.  I joined given I tore the bottom muscles of my left foot and sprained the top of my right foot during the Rev3 Knoxville holy-hell-it-rained-a-ton 70.3 event.  I wanted to rest my feet and thought strength training would be helpful in rebuilding muscles .. and keeping running muscles in shape once healed.

Every work out is hard.

Know that going into CrossFit.  Progress is only seen when you write it down, so today I saw progress and needed to share it .. I completed my box jumps AND held a handstand for 4 seconds!  Considering I couldn’t do either on day 1, I am feeling pretty proud.  There is much to go, but everyone is very supportive and ensures form is correct.  Keep the form, lower the weight, scale, and get it done.

Here is today’s workout.  I definitely recommend this CrossFit team.

May 28, 2013

Tuesday

Warm up:

Run a lap…

Then, 3 rounds of:

  • 10 shoulder stretch with pvc pipe
  • 10 wall balls (20/14)
  • 10 abmat sit ups
  • 10 back extensions

Strength:

  • Squat snatch 3-3-3-1-1-1 <- no weight; PVC

WOD: (used training bar at 35 for all lifting)

  • 10 overhead squats (back squats for me due to bad rotation over head)
  • 10 box jumps (20 inch) < BOOM
  • 10 thrusters
  • 10 power cleans
  • 10 toes to bar
  • 10 handstand push ups < tons of attempts a few good holds, max one was 4 seconds!
  • 5 rounds for time 36:24
  • 3 minutes rest & then 3 minutes of max rep squat cleans (115/75) <- 24

Also .. I hear all the time Triathletes / Endurance Runner hemming and hawing the strength side with endurance work .. let me say EVERYONE at this gym as a coach has completed at least an Iron distance or an Ultra marathon.

My thanks to them and I look forward to more progress!

About pcidss

Proficient in IT Controls, IT Security, and Risk management. My recent interests lie in the credit card security and protecting identities. This blog will reflect the past, current, and future best steps to securing data (specifically in the context of PCI DSS, and DSOP)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

