Measure your snacks… a tip on training and being healthy

As the seasons come and go I enjoy strength cycles, recovery cycles, and race season! Each level of activity certainly helps one be leaner and stronger, but that is only 1/3 of the equation.

To be healthy = lean, strong, fast … you must EAT the right foods and right amount.

I enjoy the Paleo lifestyle, which is sometimes massively hard. Pick one that suits your lifestyle.. that is not what I want to focus on.

MEASURE with a scale the portions / calories / nutrients of your snack foods. That is right, I believe you will eat right at dinner, but I found my own personal villan last year to be snacks.

Now my snacks were almonds, dates, walnuts, etc .. one would say these are healthy snacks .. I agree. The catch (isn't there always) is that these are extremely high in calories, etc… and your hand holds a whole lot more than you think!

9 almonds = roughly 140 calories, so if you grab a couple handfuls passing a bowl, you will consume 25% of your daily calories in roughly 3 fingers full!!

I didn't realize this was my villan till I started measuring them and on each bag I now write the total calories in the bag. If I want a snack I can now make an educated decision on what will be best and measure out what I need for fuel. As a result, I have also noticed if I eat some nuts (pistachio was the villan in this one example) and am not satisfied, I feel ripped off by that nut as I could have enjoyed something else with more punch / filling / satisfaction.

So .. eat well; train for an event, and measure those snacks!!!

About pcidss

Proficient in IT Controls, IT Security, and Risk management. My recent interests lie in the credit card security and protecting identities. This blog will reflect the past, current, and future best steps to securing data (specifically in the context of PCI DSS, and DSOP)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

