Paleo – Brussels Sprouts + Butternut Squash + Italian Sausage (side dish or meal)

Let me say … I really dislike Brussels Sprouts. Everytime I have had them I have hated them, and so haven't really been a fan – till now. In my desperate attempt to find more things to eat (it is extremely hard to eat all good calories to fuel properly), I thought I had to try this again… since I am neck deep on 50k, 46 mile, and ironman training better late than never.

So I will cut to the punch – it is awesome this way, so try it.

Here is the recipe [roughly 2 servings 275 total calories, 13g protein, 33g carb, 9g fat]:

  • 1 spicy italian sausage (remove from lining)
  • 1 bag defrosted Butternut Squash (roughly 1lb) peeled, seeded, and cubed
  • 1 bag of Brussels Sprouts, trimmed

Quarter the Brussels Sprouts

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Heat a large pan over medium-high heat.
  3. Add the sausage to the heated pan and cook until browned; break up the sausage as it cooks. (You may need some oil – if so, add Coconut oil .. worked great)
  4. Add the butternut squash and Brussels sprouts to coat, add the sea salt
  5. In a rimmed baking sheet, toss in the sprouts, squash, and browned sausage (add fat from the pan)
  6. Transfer baking sheet to the oven and roast until veggies are cooked through and browned; about 1-hour

Slightly spicy and awesome. Honestly I held myself back from eating the whole thing, and next time will definitely double the recipe (now that I find those BS tolerable… and who would have guessed they have so much protein!).

Enjoy,

James

 

 

About J.D.

Passionate about CrossFit, mindset, bettering each other, technology, and the intersection of cybersecurity with products. The online views and posts represent my journey of discovery and learning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

