Easiest baked trout and quinoa – paleo

 

The last couple of days have been 2 and 3 a day workouts. I am peaking for some training on my upcoming attempt at a 50k race in Lake Tahoe, and the Ironman is only 9 weeks away! As a result, I need to really get lots of good fuel in the body. I have shared my Chilean Sea Bass, and multitude of Salmon experiments – today though it is Trout.

Why Trout – how about it was only $15.99/lb! Besides, I never have tried it so why not. Fresh caught and wild, I am sold.

I decided to bake the fish in the oven wrapped in tin foil – no mess less cleaning, winning after a hard training day!

I recommend preparing the fish and right before you drop it in the oven, turn on the water for your quinoa (each takes roughly the same amount of time, so perfect).

Ingredients:

  • Trout – filleted and cleaned (I'd recommend 1/2 pound per person)
  • 4 slices of lemon per fish
  • Coconut oil
  • Parsley (fresh is best)
  • salt & pepper

Recipe:

  1. Place trout (skin down open face) on tin foil big enough to wrap it in. Add coconut oil, salt, pepper, parsley, and lemons.
  2. Wrap up trout so juices don't fall out (edges folded up is easiest), and place in oven at 400 degrees for roughly 15 minutes
  3. At the same time follow the instructions for your Quinoa (mine was bring to boil and then simmer for 15 minutes + 5 minutes of rest).
  4. When fish is done, take out of oven, plate the Quinoa + other veggies (I did a small slice of avocado). Then plate fish (remove skin – I need to learn that skill as you can see above 🙂
  5. I added a touch of more parsley and salt. Enjoy!

I will definitely make this again and if I find any new tips will certainly share.

Best,

James

 

 

About J.D.

Passionate about CrossFit, mindset, bettering each other, technology, and the intersection of cybersecurity with products. The online views and posts represent my journey of discovery and learning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

